Medical imaging Carillon Tower Glass blowing Laptop and lecture A smiling student Sunrise over the Education Building Chairs on the Memorial Union Terrace Bascom hall staircase Graduating students in silhouette Crowd of people on Bascom Hill A student tutoring Student with diploma Dance Department performance Night view of Bascom in the winter Memorial Union Terrace in autumn Memorial Union Terrace chairs Dance department performance Bucky Badger in front of a parade float Bascom Hall in the summertime Lincoln statue Students walking in the snow University of Wisconsin - Madison Crest Lincoln statue in the snow Forward Logo Student at graduation Bicycle in the snow Rathskellar Fireplace Sailboat with Capitol Building in the background A sailboat at the Memorial Union Bascom Hill in Autumn Bucky Badger studying with a student. Students among blooming trees at UW-Madison Bucky reading a book University flag on Bascom Hill Video camera view screen Student on a frozen lake Lincoln Statue on Bascom Hill Bascom Hill in winter Students collaborating Memorial Union Terrace chairs in the snow Kohl Center logo Graduates with diplomas A hands-on project Stacked, illuminated figures View from the top of Van Hise


Main Office

Department of
Counseling Psychology

School of Education
335 Education Building
1000 Bascom Mall
MadisonWI  53706-1326

Tel: 608/262-4807
Fax: 608/265-3347

or by contact form

Counseling Psychology News

School of Education alums net Wisconsin Principal of Year honors

March 18, 2013

The four Wisconsin 2013 Principals of the Year were unveiled and all have ties to UW-Madison’s School of Education.

Wisconsin State Superintendant Tony Evers and Jim Lynch, the executive director for the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators, announced the winners on Monday.

Those being honored are:

  • Associate Principal of the Year Danielle Bosanec, Pewaukee High School -- Bosanec started her fulltime teaching career in Pewaukee High School’s social studies department and worked as dean of students before becoming associate principal in 2010. She earned her bachelor’s degree from Minnesota State University-Mankato and a master’s degree and director of curriculum and instruction license from UW-Madison.
  • Middle School Principal of the Year Jacqueline Coghlan, Northland Pines Middle School, Eagle River -- Coghlan earned a bachelor’s in English from Northland College in Ashland, a master’s degree in physical education from UW-La Crosse, and a degree in educational administration from UW-Madison.
  • High School Principal of the Year Michael Frieder, Bay Port High School, Green Bay, Howard-Suamico School District -- Frieder started his career in education as a school psychologist. He earned his bachelor’s degree from UW-Stevens Point, a master’s in school psychology from the UW-La Crosse, and a degree in educational leadership from UW-Madison.
  • Elementary School Principal of the Year Theresa Loehr, Chegwin Elementary School, Fond du Lac School District -- Loehr was a teacher and learning coordinator at Toki Middle School in Madison at the beginning of her career and has been in the Fond du Lac School District since 1996. She earned her bachelor’s degree from Marian College in Fond du Lac and a master’s degree from the UW-Madison.

“Each of these school leaders recognizes that the educational success of their schools and students comes from the collaborative strength of their staff,” Evers said in the release. “From adopting a FreshStart group, to launching anti-bulling efforts, these individuals are compassionate toward students and inspire staff members to continue improving so students meet our Agenda 2017 goals for college and career readiness.”

“Strong leadership is essential to a strong school,” Lynch added in a statement. “These four principals focus on teamwork and the learning community among school staff members that support student success. They embody the dedication to children that Wisconsin principals bring to school every day. AWSA is proud to forward applications for these principals to their respective national Principal of the Year competitions.”

For complete details about each of the winners, check out this DPI news release.

© 2018 Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System • Please contact the School of Education External Relations Office with questions, issues or comments about this site.