Medical imaging Carillon Tower Glass blowing Laptop and lecture A smiling student Sunrise over the Education Building Chairs on the Memorial Union Terrace Bascom hall staircase Graduating students in silhouette Crowd of people on Bascom Hill A student tutoring Student with diploma Dance Department performance Night view of Bascom in the winter Memorial Union Terrace in autumn Memorial Union Terrace chairs Dance department performance Bucky Badger in front of a parade float Bascom Hall in the summertime Lincoln statue Students walking in the snow University of Wisconsin - Madison Crest Lincoln statue in the snow Forward Logo Student at graduation Bicycle in the snow Rathskellar Fireplace Sailboat with Capitol Building in the background A sailboat at the Memorial Union Bascom Hill in Autumn Bucky Badger studying with a student. Students among blooming trees at UW-Madison Bucky reading a book University flag on Bascom Hill Video camera view screen Student on a frozen lake Lincoln Statue on Bascom Hill Bascom Hill in winter Students collaborating Memorial Union Terrace chairs in the snow Kohl Center logo Graduates with diplomas A hands-on project Stacked, illuminated figures View from the top of Van Hise


Main Office

Department of
Counseling Psychology

School of Education
335 Education Building
1000 Bascom Mall
MadisonWI  53706-1326

Tel: 608/262-4807
Fax: 608/265-3347

or by contact form

Counseling Psychology News

School of Education to honor Distinguished Achievement Award winners April 20

April 04, 2016

The national reputation of UW-Madison’s School of Education is due, in large part, to the dedication and talent of its faculty and staff.

Awards 2016Each year the School recognizes outstanding members of its family with Distinguished Achievement Awards.

The School recently announced winners for the 2016 awards cycle, and this year’s honorees will be recognized at a Faculty & Staff Distinguished Achievement Awards Reception on Wednesday, April 20. The event runs from 4 to 6 p.m. in the Education Building’s Wisconsin Idea room, with a program to begin at 4:45 p.m.

The 2016 award winners include:

Ann Wallace Academic Staff Distinguished Achievement

Alison Bowman, Wisconsin HOPE Lab

Virginia Waddick, Department of Rehabilitation Psychology and Special Education

University Staff Distinguished Achievement

Susan O’Rourke (Claire Shaffer Award), Education Academic Services

Jeannine Nicolai-Heckmann, Department of Kinesiology

Faculty Distinguished Achievement

David Kaplan, Department of Educational Psychology

Nancy Kendall, Department of Educational Policy Studies

Dick & Julie Daly Education Student Staff Achievement

Josh Peschek, Media, Education Resources & Information Technology

Community-Engaged Scholarship

Aydin Bal, Department of Rehabilitation Psychology and Special Education

Excellence in Diversity

Mindi Thompson, Department of Counseling Psychology

The Ann Wallace Academic Staff Distinguished Achievement awards are sponsored by Ann Wallace. The Claire Shaffer Award is made possible by a generous gift from Claire and Ron Shaffer. The Faculty Achievement awards are supported by the Charles Read Recognition Fund. The Student Staff Award is made possible by a gift from Jo Ann Carr. The Excellence in Diversity Award is supported by the School of Education’s Equity and Diversity Committee. Gifts from the School’s alumni & friends support the Community-Engaged Scholarship Award.

© 2018 Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System • Please contact the School of Education External Relations Office with questions, issues or comments about this site.